The Nicholson War Memorial
The Friends of the Nicholson War Memorial was established to conserve and promote this Grade II listed building. The clock tower is one of Leek’s iconic buildings and known locally as the “Monument”.
The memorial was built in 1925 by Sir Arthur Nicholson to commemorate the men of Leek and District who fell in the First World War. In particular his son, Lieutenant Basil Lee Nicholson, who was killed in action at Ypres in 1915.
Standing at 90ft (27.4m) high, the tower is one of the tallest war memorials in the country and with four clock faces serves as the town’s main clock. It is built of Portland stone and when it was built in 1925 cost £16,000.
In 2011 significant restoration repairs were carried out by the Friends following successful grant applications to the Heritage Lottery Fund, for £178,000 and the Wolfson Foundation and English Heritage for £10,000.
Free guided tours of the war memorial take place on the first Sunday and third Saturday of the month from April to September. On Sundays it is open from 1.00pm until 3.00pm and on Saturdays from 11.00am to 1.00pm. The tours last around thirty minutes and there is no need to book, just turn up on the day and speak to a volunteer guide.
For more information about the “Monument” and the history of the Nicholson family go to: www.nicholsonmemorial.org.uk